Skip navigation

I am not entirely convinced by Hobbes’ theory that the make-up of human nature will lead to a state of war in the world.  He explains the reasons for how a “quarrel” always emerges with men, by listing desires of what he says is all men. Some are competition, diffidence, glory, and reputation.  I don’t believe that becuase of these parts of human nature that it would cause such constant war, as he says.  I think that war is caused by some of these emotions built inside of every person, but war is a drastic action, and if human nature leads to nothing but war that would mean we are all very aggressive beings, which I don’t believe is true.

One Comment

  1. I wonder if Hobbes really requires that we be aggressive in a general sense in order for war to erupt in the state of nature. The idea is that, when I am close to death from starving, I will do what I have to do in order to survive. Is this rightly called aggression? Or can it be analyzed as mere self-interest?


Leave a comment